newbie to prevue/tv guide emulation...

Discuss the reverse engineering and emulation (as opposed to simulation) of any sort of Prevue hardware, including Atari-based and Amiga-based EPG channels and the Amiga-based Prevue/TV Guide channels.
Danfun64

newbie to prevue/tv guide emulation...

Post by Danfun64 »

Hello, although I am not new to emulation itself (i used various emulators in the past), I am new to tv guide emulation. I didn't even know that TV Guide was named Prevue Guide in the past until recently. I noticed that you guys are trying to emulate the prevue guide software. How far have you got in emulation? Is there a way to get tv listings through the emulation in windows? Sorry, but the status of things aren't clear... This next question might be outlandish, but has anybody managed to emulate the win-nt versions of the tv guide software? Thanks in advance.

edit: fixed title LOL
tin

Re: newbie to prevue/tv guide emulation...

Post by tin »

Definitely not the NT version! We can emulate the Amiga version under windows in WinUAE, and inject some of the data via a virtual serial port. Or in fact, it can run on a real Amiga too.
Danfun64

Post by Danfun64 »

ok... so if i wanted to do manual listings entry (for goofy purposes i guess), i'm trying this:
tin wrote:Okay as you might have guessed, make a new HD from a folder on your Host OS. Assign it DH2 (or change the script whatever you prefer) and change the startup sequence to the following:

;main startup script

failat 21
assign ENV: dh2:
makedir ram:T
assign T: ram:T

assign c: dh2:c
assign s: dh2:s
assign df0: dismount
assign df0: dh2:

newcli "CON:0/0/640/200/ Prevue" from s:uv-ver
endcli >nil
but when i try to use the script, well... Image

If this isn't right, then i don't know what the problem is... Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
tin

Post by tin »

U need to copy ALL the files from the floppy disk to your (virtual) HD and make that the boot device.
Danfun64

Post by Danfun64 »